Illustration of Hjärup station, part of the four track solution between Lund - Arlöv.

Lund - Arlöv, four tracks

In partnership with the Swedish Transport Administration, NCC, in consortium with Spain’s Obrascon Huarte Lain, S.A. (OHL), is building four new rail tracks between Lund and Arlöv in Skåne, southern Sweden. The contract also includes refitting the stations in Hjärup, Åkarp and Burlöv as well as a new station in southern Lund.

The contract, which is carried out by NCC and OHL in the consortium “Lund–Arlöv, four tracks”, comprises:

  • two temporary rail tracks (to full standard) on the section from Hjärup to Arlöv that is used during the course of the expansion work.
  • four new tracks on the section from Flackarp to Arlöv, where the rail line will be restructured and sunk into the ground for around five kilometers of the route with an overbuild in Åkarp.
  • refitting the stations in Hjärup, Åkarp and Burlöv.
  • four new tracks on the Lund–Flackarp section.
  • a new station in Klostergården in the southern of Lund

This is one of the busiest rail lines in the whole of Sweden, so minimizing disruption is essential, not only for rail passengers, but also for the road users and pedestrians who are affected locally.

The project is carried out in partnership with the Swedish Transport Administration. Work started in 2017 and the project is expected to be completed by 2023.

About Lund–Arlöv, four tracks:

In order to increase capacity and reduce traffic disruptions, the Swedish Transport Administration is expanding the Southern Main Line between Malmö and Lund from two to four tracks. Parts of the route between Lund and Arlöv will be built below ground level to cut noise disruption, and more and better crossings will be built over the tracks to improve accessibility.
More information about the project can be found at the Swedish Transport Administration website.

The architectural drawings show the station in Hjärup (Source: Swedish Transport Administration/Sweco) and the stations in Åkarp and Burlöv

(Source: Swedish Transport Administration/WSP).